Skip to content

First Post!

2008 May 30

Hi all! This blog is for friends and family to keep up with me and my research while I’m in Kanazawa, Japan this summer. I’m just getting things set up, but the plan is that, as I upload photos to Flickr, you’ll be able to see them on the sidebar here while you read. I think WordPress produces an RSS feed (at least I hope so), so those of you who know what that is and prefer it to checking a webpage manually can use that instead. I’ll also tag posts to make it easier to find specific information. For example, this post has a helpful dictionary link in it, so I’m tagging it as “basic information” and “links”.

I may be doing some posting in Japanese, too, or at least typing some words in it, so you should make sure your blog-viewer of choice supports it. As a test, here is the name of the city I am staying in this summer: 金沢. WWWJDIC is a good resource for all of you to have on hand in case I post a little too much Japanese.

I’ve never used WordPress before, but so far it looks pretty good. I was going to use Blogspot, but there’s already a marainjapan there! Don’t get confused – bookmark me here!

I leave for Japan on June 4th, but I just got my cellphone, so I’ll share that number soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

