Skip to content

Pictures and Postcards

2008 July 15
tags: ,

Today I took another trip to 兼六園 to get some photos and, incidentally, took a walk through the Ishikawa Prefectural Museum of Traditional Arts and Crafts (as opposed to the Ishikawa Prefectural Museum of Art, still closed) and bought souvenirs on the street alongside the gardens. I’ll have to resize the pictures to get them all up and leave room for more before I leave, but if you’d like a larger version for any reason, just email me. (EDIT: Turns out Flickr will only let you have 200 photos at a time unless you have a Pro account, so I went ahead and got one. No more resizing photos to fit under a bandwidth limit from now on, and you’ll be able to see all my photos for the next year. Dirty trick, Flickr.)

And speaking of mail, I found a book of postcards today that I’d love to mail out to people! I am reserving three for my parents and grandmothers, but if you would like one, send me your mailing address (preferably through emailing msrose at wm dot edu, although if you choose to leave it in a comment I can probably keep it private). The photographs are, for the most part, austere, but they capture everything from local food and crafts to seasons. If you’ve got a preference on what sort of picture you’d like, let me know that too, and I’ll do my best.

ColourLovers did an article on kimono the other day, with a little bit of history on the garment.

And finally, here’s a short recording I made while walking through Kenrokuen today to demonstrate how loud the cicadas are!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. traci-chan permalink
    2008 July 16 10:16 am

    you know i love letters!

  2. marainjapan permalink
    2008 July 19 1:02 pm

    Email me your new address!

Leave a Reply

